Eighth Convocation of IIT (BHU) held, 1282 students awarded Degree

Varanasi: The Indian Institute of Technology (BHU) organized its eighth convocation at Swatantra Bhavan on Friday. Union Minister of Human Resource and Development, Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ and Professor Pramod Kumar Jain, Chairman of the Board of Governor and Director of the Institute honoured the meritorious with degrees, medals and awards.

Vibhor Bansal, a student of Electronic engineering, won ten gold medals, one silver and three awards. Chemical engineering student Aleshwarpu Shravani received six gold medals and two awards. Besides, four gold and one award went to Aayushi Jain of Computer Science and Engineering Department and Malay Sagar of Mechanical Engineering Department, four gold and two awards went to Akshansh Chandravanshi of Electrical Engineering Department, two gold and two awards went to Jitendra of Department of Civil Engineering, three gold to Dhanushmanath Yenugu of Mining Engineering Department, Department of Pharmaceutical Engineering Raj Gujjar won two gold and a prize. While Saksham Jain of Civil Department and Sagar Srivastava and Gulshan Verma of Mechanical Engineering bagged two gold medals each.

At the ceremony, 1282 meritorious students from various courses of the Institute were awarded degrees. It consisted of 754 BTech, 197 IDD / IMD, 252 MTech / MPharma and 79 research students. A total of 54 graduates, who received the highest marks in various courses at the convocation, were awarded 81 medals, 17 prizes in various categories. The tradition of giving Presidents Gold Medal to the institute was started in the year 2018. This year, Shruti Rajalakshmi, a BTech, Computer Science and  engineering student, became the first girl student of the Institute to receive this medal. Also Sai Pawan SN of Metallurgical Engineering Department was awarded the Director’s Gold Medal for outstanding all round performance and outstanding organizational abilities and leadership qualities among all B.Tech graduates.

The award distribution was conducted by the Registrar of the Institute Dr. SP Mathur and Professor Rajiv Prakash, Dean, Research and Development.

After the ceremony, the Minister laid the foundation stone of three projects of the Institute ‘Dhanrajgiri Hostel-II’, ‘Student Activities Center’ for indoor sports facilities and ‘Faculty Apartment’ for providing residential facilities to faculty members and officials in the Gymkhana Ground.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button