1481 meritorious students will be given the degree in 9th Convocation IIT(BHU)


Varanasi:  Indian Institute of Technology (BHU) is going to organize its 9th convocation at the Swatantrata Bhawan on February 8. The convocation will be attended by the CEO and founder of a cloud-based information security company -Zascaler in the USA, Jay Chaudhry, who is also an alumnus of the IIT(BHU). Padmashri Kota Harinarayan, the chairman of the Board of Governors of the Institute will preside over the convocation ceremony.

The IIT(BHU) director Prof. Pramod Kumar Jain on Saturday said that a total of 1481 meritorious students of different courses including 775 of B.Tech./ B.Pharm, 259 of IDD/IMD, 294 of M.Tech./M.Pharm. and 153 research scholars will be given degrees. Besides, 80 Gold and Silver medals and 16 prizes will also be awarded in various categories to a total of 52 graduates who have scored the highest marks in their respective courses.

This year’s President’s gold medal and Director’s gold medal will be given for achieving outstanding achievements among all discipline, he said adding that for outstanding performance in academics among all disciplines of B.Tech.  Ankan Bohara, Department of Computer Science and Engineering is awarded the President’s Gold Medal and Ms. Ananya Gupta, Department of Electrical Engineering is awarded Director’s Gold Medal for outstanding all round performance and excellent organizational abilities and leadership qualities among all B.Tech. graduates of 2020.

He further said that under the Covid-19 protocol this time, only the students who received medals and the Deans, Head of the Departments, Ph.D. scholars and officials of the institute will be present at the convocation ceremony. The alumni and current students, academics and other guests from different parts of the country are being invited through online. The Institute’s website will broadcast live on https://iitbhu.ac.in/webcast convocation. Prior to the convocation, its rehearsal will be held at Swatantrata Bhawan on Sunday.

Prof. Rajiv Prakash, Dean, Research and Development, Prof. SB Dwivedi, Dean of Academic Affairs, and Prof. Vikas Dubey were also present at the press conference.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker
%d bloggers like this: