Prez confers National Sports Awards

Prez confers National Sports Awards

New Delhi: The President Ram Nath Kovind virtually conferred the National Sports and Adventure Awards 2020 to 60 awardees on the occasion of National Sports Day on Saturday.

Union Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports Kiren Rijiju, Secretary Department of Sports Ravi Mittal and Secretary Department of Youth affairs Usha Sharma and several others attended the ceremony at Vigyan Bhavan, New Delhi. The awardees attended the ceremony from various SAI centers across the country. Few awardees were also present at the venue at Vigyan Bhawan.

Speaking on the occasion, the President said that COVID-19 has adversely affected the sports world too. Olympic Games have been postponed. Sports activities in our country have also been affected. Players and coaches might be feeling less motivated due to lack of practice and competitions which poses a huge challenge for their mental and physical preparation. He was happy to note that players and coaches have been connected through online coaching and webinars to overcome this challenge. He said that today’s event was an attempt to continue sports related activities despite the global pandemic.

He said that today’s award winners represent more than 20 sports. The growing popularity of traditional games like Kabaddi, Kho-Kho and Mallakhamb will help in connecting the common people with sports. Today, apart from Cricket and Football, league tournaments of sports like Volleyball and Kabaddi are gaining popularity which is a pleasant change.

Speaking on the occasion, Rijiju said that the Ministry is running many schemes for the field of sports and adventure. Khelo India and Fit India are excellent examples of this. He added that we have prepared a long-term plan and the aim is that India will figure in the first ten countries of winners at the Olympics of 2028.

Prez confers National Sports Awards

The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, the highest sporting honour of the country is given for spectacular and outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four years. There were five winners of the award this year, cricketer Rohit Sharma, wrestler Vinesh Phogat, table tennis player Manika Batra, hockey player Rani Rampal and Para-athlete Mariyappan Thangavelu.

The Arjuna Award is given for consistent performances over a period of four years, amongst the winners this year were shooters Saurabh Chaudhary and Manu Bhaker, wrestler Divya Kakran, boxer Lovlina Borgohain and badminton stars Chirag Shetty and Satwiksairaj Rankireddy. This year athletes in KhoKho, Kabaddi, Equestrian and winter sports were also awarded with the Arjuna Award.

The Dronacharya award is given to the coaches who have been instrumental in producing medal winners at prestigious international sports events. The Dhyan Chand Award is for lifetime contribution to sports development and Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puraskar is given to the corporate entities (private and public sector) and individuals who have played a visible role in the area of sports promotion and development. Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments is given Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA Trophy). In addition to these sports awards, the spirit of adventure among the people of the country is recognised by bestowing the Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker